The James N. Murray Award was established by the Beta Iota Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa in 1985 in honor of the late James N. Murray, UI professor and past chair of the Department of Political Science. Professor Murray was also an ODK alum. The Murray Award is designed to honor an untenured faculty member, typically a younger scholar with less than six years of UI service, who has demonstrated outstanding rapport with students and who creates an exemplary classroom atmosphere.

Nominations may be submitted by anyone in the University of Iowa community. Collaboration between students and faculty is encouraged in the nomination process. The winner of each award will be announced at the annual Hancher-Finkbine Dinner for Representative Student Leaders, held in April.

View current and previous award recipients