This dinner brings together outstanding individuals to establish meaningful connections that will help them throughout their careers, volunteer experiences, and daily lives.

Founded in 1917 by alumnus William O. Finkbine, the Hancher-Finkbine Dinner is an opportunity for each generation of campus leaders to become acquainted with the event's hosts and with one another.

Hancher-Finkbine Award Recipients

This annual event honors past and present distinguished students, faculty, staff, and alumni through a series of awards (listed below). The Hancher-Finkbine Medallion, one of the awards presented at the Dinner, is an opportunity for members of the University community to recognize their peers for exemplary dedication in leadership, learning, and loyalty. These awards, the most prestigious at the University of Iowa, seek to recognize individuals of extraordinary ability and potential.

Nominations and Selection

Learn more about the history of the Hancher-Finkbine Dinner and awards.

Awards Presented at the Hancher-Finkbine Dinner

Hancher-Finkbine Medallion

Hancher-Finkbine Medallion

Through the generosity of Hands of Iowa City and The University of Iowa Center for Advancement, medallions are now awarded to four students, a professor, and a member of the alumni family each year. Women and men are equally eligible to receive this symbol of the University’s highest esteem.

Distinguished Student Leader Award

The Distinguished Student Leader Awards are selected by the Hancher-Finkbine Dinner Committee to recognize students who have exhibited meritorious qualities in learning, leadership and loyalty. Recipients are nominated by student organizations and collegiate deans. Established in 1980, recipients include both undergraduate and graduate students.